The Official Website of Afghan Premier League

Secondary menu


2016 RAPL Review: Shaheen Asmayee

21 Nov, 2016

Kabul representative, Shaheen Asmayee blazed its path to the 2016 Afghan Roshan Premier League (RAPL) semi-finals for the fourth year in row. The two-time RAPL champions and 2015 RAPL runners up had their competitive appearance back to fifth season to claim the championship for the third time in the RAPL history. The team has been one of the well-known powerhouses in the RAPL, attracting huge number of fans. 

Shaheen kicked-off the fifth season with significant changes in its squad; an estimated 75% change compared to last year. Most of the players newly joined the team. The team was considered to be equipped with indomitable squad for this year. Amrudin Sharifi, Samiullah Mohammadi, Sayed Mohammad Hashimi, Kawash Haidari, Sayed Nasir Hussaini, Hussain Alizada, Jamil Nasiri, and Rohid Samandari were the eminent faces. Proudly, Amrudin Sharifi won the Golden Boot award of 2016 RAPL. 

Majority of fans expected Shaheen to spark this season with a win over its strong opponent, Toofan Harirod in its first group stage game. Unbelievably, the expectation did not come through as Shaheen conceded the pitch 2-0. The early defeat put lots of questions on Shaheen’s survival in the entire 2016 tournament.  Later, Shaheen secured 6 points in the group stage, winning De Abasin Sape and De Maiwand Atalan and advanced to semi-finals. The team was granted a spot in the 2016 RAPL final after its triumph over Simorgh Alborz with aggregate score of 10-3 in the semi-finals.

De Maiwand Atalan stood against Shaheen Asmayee in the 2016 RAPL final, one of the toughest games for both. Chances were almost non-existent in the first half; yet, Amrudin Sharifi scored two goals in the second half and put Shaheen ahead. The final game ended with 2-1 ascendency of Shaheen. 

This is the third time that Shaheen Asmayee wins the RAPL championship cup.

Share this page