The Official Website of Afghan Premier League

Secondary menu


De Spinghar Bazan to face 2016 APL champions

7 Sep, 2017

The 2017 Afghan Premier League (APL) opening ceremony will take place today, September 07, 2017 at 3:00 pm in the Afghanistan Football Federation (AFF) stadium. The ceremony will be followed by the APL’s group stage first match between Shaheen Asmayee and De Spinghar Bazan. 

The 2017 draw put both teams in group “A” with Mawjhai Amu and Oqaban Hindukosh. 

It may be one of the toughest games of this season for the 2016 champions, Shaheen Asmayee, and the 2015 champions, De Spinghar Bazan who bemoaned the misfortune in facing an early elimination in the fifth season. 

Shaheen Asmayee has an outstanding record in APL history, etching their names on the APL championship cup for the third consecutive year. Asmayee triumphed 2-1 over De Maiwad Atalan in the 2016 final. 

“All the players have gone through challenging trainings in Kabul. We are optimistic and motivated to win this season too,” said the coach, Mujtaba Faiz. Compared to last year, a 30% change is obvious in Shaheen’s squad. “With young players, we will take the lead,” Faiz emphasized. 

Representing the eastern region, De Spinghar Bazan came to capital Kabul with the hope to repeat 2015 and make an impressive victory in this season. “We brought significant changes in our squad, nearly 70%, this year. Bazan’s players are young-enthusiastic ones who will have a sensational start,” said Fahim Afkar, the captain. 

Last year, Bazan was eliminated in the group stage as they conceded 2-0 to Mawjhai Amu and had two draws encountering Simorgh Alborz and Oqaban Hindukosh.

The opening ceremony as well as the match of Bazan against Asmayee will be broadcast LIVE on TOLO TV, Lemar TV and simulcast on Arman FM, Arakozia FM as well as online via the APL Official YouTube Channel. Follow APL YouTube page (www.youtube.com/afghanpremierleague) for the match highlights. Like APL Instagram (Afghanpremierleague.official) for more updated photos of the teams. Read more about the coming events on (www.afghanpremierleague.com). 

Share this page