The Official Website of Afghan Premier League

Secondary menu


Helmand Regional Tournament “De Maiwand Atalan”

25 May, 2014

The Helmand Regional Tournament took place from May 11th through May 14thin the Karzai Football stadium in Lashkar Gah of Helmand. Six teams from five different provinces in the western region participated in the tournament: Helmand A, Helmand B, Zabul, Kandahar, Orozgan and Nimruz. Some of these players have to travel from their respective villages and districts under very difficult circumstances to be able to fulfill their passion for Football.

Some of the players had travelled from Iran under the extremely difficult logistical and financial circumstances by borrowing money from family and friends to be able to participate in the tournament.

AFF officials selected the 26 best players from these four teams based on their skills and performance. Those players will be further narrowed down to 21 players during an Intra-Squad match on July 10th. The 26 players will be divided into two teams to play against each other. The 21 players selected by AFF officials from that match will be the final list of players officially representing the Western region and “De Maiwand Atalan”.

List of 26 Players from De Maiwand Atalan Team
S/No Name Position
1 Amanullah Toofan Goal Keeper
2 Murtaza Goal Keeper
3 Ahmadullah Sadat Goal Keeper
4 Samahullah Midfielder
5 Naseer Haji Midfielder
6 Waheedullah Midfielder
7 Asadullah Rezai Midfielder
8 Wali Muhammad Midfielder
9 Fareed Azad Midfielder
10 Abdul Kareem Midfielder
11 Sediq Midfielder
12 Muhammad Khan Midfielder
13 Shair Khan Defender
14 Naseer Ahmad Defender
15 Feraidoon Defender
16 Abdul Qayoom Hemat Full Back
17 Baryalai Center Off
18 Ghulam Rasool Defender
19 Abdul Qayoom Barekzai Defender
20 Sayed Ahmad Defender
21 Sayed Defender
22 Sayed Baqer Forward
23 Abdul Wahid Noorzai Forward
24 Khalid Ahad Forward
25 Abdul Mateen Forward
26 Muhammad Hafiza Forward

Share this page