The Official Website of Afghan Premier League

Secondary menu


Shaheen Asmayee are RAPL Champions Once Again

3 Oct, 2014

Shaheen Asmayee defeated Oqaban Hindukosh 3-2, in front of a packed crowd at AFF Stadium to become the 2014 RAPL Champions. They stand at the top of the hill as the only repeat champions in Roshan Afghan Premier League history. 
 Shaheen Asmayee owned the first half as they dominated possession and shots on goal. It looked like Shaheen Asmayee was going to coast to its second championship as they took a 2-0 advantage into the half. Both first half goals were scored by Amriddin Sharifi, the first in the 30th minute and the second in the 45th minute.  
The second half was a completely different story. Oqaban Hindukosh was the aggressor as they had Shaheen Asmayee back on their heels with a consistent attack, scoring twice to tie the game and send it to extra time. Their first goal came courtesy of Anwar Akbari in the 60th minute on a powerful shot from outside the box. The second was scored by Golden Boot winner, Riza Rizayee, in the 70th minute on a brilliant header off of a free kick from Farhad Totakhil.
Hashmat "The Refrigerator" Barakzai quickly ended the suspense in the opening minutes of extra time, when he scored the third and deciding goal in 92nd minute. The crowd erupted, Barakzai ripped off his jersey and ran to the near side of the field to celebrate with teammates and Shaheen Asmayee fans. 

To watch the best moments of the match, see the video highlights of the match below.

Share this page